About Us

HILARY:  

Hilary divides her time between her 3 daughters (16, 13 & 11 years old) and her full-time job as a counsellor in small town Eastern Ontario, and her partner and best friend Patrick in Montreal.  In between, she knits as much as possible.  

She first learned knitting in grade 5 when her teacher, Mme Spear, began a lunchtime Learn to Knit class.  After a few frustrating years of trying, giving up and trying again, repeat, the knitting bug finally hit for good by the time she was in university.  It's only intensified since.  Now Hilary is never without at least a few different projects on the go.  

Knitting Faves: texture, interchangeable circular needles, luxurious Canadian-made yarns.

Knitting weakness: colour-work---intarsia, fair isle---and she resolves to tackle this more.

Dream project: Bee Keeper's Quilt in my wildest fantasies.


CHRISTY:

Christy lives in Kingston with her 2 kids (Audrey, 3 & Matthew, 18 months) and wonderful hub, Mike.  She teaches part-time and squeezes in as much knitting related activity as she can manage.  We just moved into an old Victorian house downtown and are busy with unpacking, settling in, and setting up my knitting nook.  Lots of knitting thoughts floating through my head these days, but not enough time!

She first learned to knit through her sister, Hilary.  After several years of watching Hil create beautiful hand knits, she decided it was time to try it out for herself.  Christy started out small with simple scarves but over the years has moved on to cowls, sweaters, and more (but for whatever reason, no socks).  Maybe one day.

Knitting Faves: perfect lys visit (a fine balance of many factors), sweet little baby knits, anything Brooklyn Tweed

Knitting weakness: finishing projects, lace, and colour-work

Other faves: delicious baked goods, mid-century modern design, & Great Lake Swimmers

1 comment:

Jenn said...

Love you two, and love your blog!!! Keep it up, can't wait to see more..I should probably dust off my old knitting needles myself (I can knit a mean square)